Adversaries

love thy enemy
for how they curse, cripple and envy you,
in so doing they give you the measure and depth to the sacred rooms
which house your own vigorous soul.

there is something so gratifying in knowing that I am despised; that I am disdained!
I am loved with unkind fervor–Oh, the importance attributed to me.
It keeps me afloat, a fire burning over water never smoked out.

What is life without the adversary? Nemesis–those peevish squabbling enemies?
What a bore-ish existence without you. Thank you for noticing that I am other
than your charm.

each rival is a groundbreaking storm that feeds the carnage out of where our
seeds grow into flowers and our failures become sober songs of delight.

SD June 3, 2010

Leave a Reply

