Fragments: Poet, Sex Symbol, Artist,

“To have survived, she would have had to be either more cynical or even further from reality than she was. Instead, she was a poet on a street corner trying to recite to a crowd pulling at her clothes.” Arthur Miller on Marilyn Monroe [Fragments, 2010. Harpercollins publishers Ltd.]

Although, I prefer her later recent book released by Harper Collins in 2010 titled ‘Fragments’, a great copy of her scribblings and documents that pay homage to her writing poetry, I thought I’d take this opportunity to express my disdain, my sadness and enigmatic wonder at the tragedy that was/is Marilyn Monroe.

The October 2011 issue of Vanity Fair is promoting and celebrating the launch of a new [art] photography book: Footage never before seen, taken by the late Bruno Bernard. A renowned Hollywood photographer, Bernard did rare and intimate portraits of Marilyn Monroe. The book, by the look of it and the links below, is pretty spectacular.

Marilyn: The Metamorphosis

Marilyn: Intimate Exposures

Typewriter

Oh silence why don’t/aren’t you still soothe me
you sounds drums stillness hurt my ears head-and
pierce ears
jars my head with the stillness of
sounds unbearable/durable–
on the screen of pitch blackness
comes/reappears the shapes of monsters who are
my most steadfast companions–
my blood is throbbing with unrest
turns it route in the opposite another direction
and the whole world is sleeping
ah peace I need you–even a
peaceful monster.

MM [1956]

Leave a Reply

