War Song

I could see his face from the train,
I felt great joy and sorrow.
My heart was in pain,
yet, I was proud to see him go.
Not that I wouldn’t miss him,
I loved him dearly so.

And the Sons of many more
marched their way to war.

I was glad to see him wave,
I felt his great fear,
yet, I knew he would be brave,
Not shedding any tears.

I watched from a distance,
as the train pulled away.
I began to cry quite madly,
wanting him to stay,
but, I was not alone
I heard the scream of others.

And the Sons of many more
marched their way to war.

I had so many feelings
I wished to die right then.
I would always remember
those many many men.

I turned to walk away,
the face that stayed as one.
The face from the train–he
He was my son.

And the Sons of many more
March their way to War.

Sonia Di Placido [Song excerpt, 1989]

I wrote this poem for my grade 8 junior high year at 13 years old.
My teacher requested we each write a Remembrance Day poem. It was
entered into their contest.

This poem won Two Awards:

The ROYAL CANADIAN LEGION ONTARIO PROVINCIAL COMMAND
1. Second Prize in the Rememberance Day Literary Contest of the Intermediate Poem-zone level dated Toronto the 29th day of January 1989.

2. 1st Place Intermediate Poems in the Remembrance Day Literary Contest of the    NORTH YORK, BRANCH 66 dated at North York the 29th day of January 1989.

2 thoughts on “War Song

  1. Hi James:

    Thank you. I found it a few years ago with the award certificates when my mom brought me some old school boxes. I was always emotionally deep as a child. It’s funny and its so cute to look at after all these years.

    I look forward to reading your work as well. Best Wishes.
    Sonia

    Like

Leave a Reply

